Blogs > Liberty and Power > LFS Hall of Fame Finalists Announced

Feb 19, 2012

LFS Hall of Fame Finalists Announced

The Libertarian Futurist Society has chosen four finalists for this 
year's Hall of Fame Award. The Award will be presented at the 70th World 
Science Fiction Convention, to be held in Chicago over Labor Day weekend.

The nominees are as follows:

Falling Free, a novel by Lois McMaster Bujold, first published in 1988. 
An exploration of the legal and ethical implications of human genetic 

"'Repent, Harlequin!' Said the Ticktockman," by Harlan Ellison, first 
published in 1965. A satirical dystopia set in an authoritarian society 
dedicated to punctuality, where a lone absurdist rebel attempts to 
disrupt everyone else's schedules.

"The Machine Stops,” by E.M. Forster, first published in 1909. Described 
by the author as a reaction to H.G. Wells's fiction, it portrays a 
decaying future of human beings incapable of independent existence or 
first-hand contact.

"As Easy as A.B.C.," a short story by Rudyard Kipling, first published 
in 1912. An ambiguously utopian future that has reacted against the mass 
society that was beginning to emerge when it was written, in favor of 
privacy and freedom of movement.

The winner will be chosen by ranked choices voting by the members of the 
Libertarian Futurist Society.

First awarded in 1983 to Robert Heinlein's The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress 
and Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged, the Hall of Fame Award honors classic 
works of science fiction and fantasy that celebrate freedom, show paths 
to its enhancement, or warn against abuses of political power. Since 
2000, it has been open to short stories, films, television episodes or 
series, graphic novels, musical works, and other narrative and dramatic 

comments powered by Disqus